About the Department

Today, the Department No. 9 of the National Research Nuclear University “Moscow Engineering Physics Institute” (NRNU MEPhI) is called the Department of Materials Science. The Department includes educational and scientific subject laboratories and the Branch Research Laboratory ONIL-709. The educational block of the Department includes four branches (basic departments) of NRNU MEPhI at:

  • the National Research Center “Kurchatov Institute” (NRC KI),
  • the High-Technology Research Institute of Inorganic Materials named after A.A. Bochvar (VNIINM),
  • the Research Institute of the Scientific Production Association “LUCH” (NII NPO LUCH)
  • and the A.A. Baikov Institute of Metallurgy and Materials Science of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IMET RAS).

For many years, the duties of the Head of the Department were entrusted to Professor Boris Alexandrovich Kalin.

The Department is a part of the Institute of Nuclear Physics and Technology of NRNU MEPhI and is the base in the Scientific and Educational Center of this Institute, closely interacting within the Center with the Interdepartmental Laboratory for the Development of New Materials of NRNU MEPhI (Laboratory No. 346).

The basis of the scientific and pedagogical team and the School “Physical Materials Science” created by V.S. Emelyanov together with such associates as professors D.M. Skorov, A.I. Evstyukhin, A.N. Rozanov, N.M. Beskorovainy, G.B. Fedorov and A.A. Rusakov were professors B.A. Kalin, Yu.A. Perlovich, S.A. Kokhtev and V.L. Yakushin.

At present, professors A.G. Zaluzhny, I.I. Chernov and M.G. Isaenkova, as well as associate professors and teachers of the Department and its Branches, teachers-specialists of distance learning from foreign organizations and universities, including the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Fayetteville State University and Texas A&M University (USA), Belarusian State University and Belarusian National Technical University (Belarus), Institute of Nuclear Physics of the National Nuclear Center (Republic of Kazakhstan), Riga Technical University, University of Oslo and Energy Research Institute (Norway), and Uppsala University (Sweden) are the basis of the scientific and pedagogical team and the School “Physical Materials Science”.

Russian scientific foundations such as Russian Foundation for Basic Research ( RFBR) and Russian Science Foundation (RScF), grants from the Ministry of Education and Science, Rosatom State Corporation and its enterprises (Rosenergoatom, TVEL, VNIINM, NII NPO LUCH, etc.) are partners of the Department in scientific activities.